Lead Organizers


Mr. Louis Beaulieu

Chief Executive Officer, Transplant Québec, Montreal, Canada

Dr. Matthew Weiss

Scientific Director of the Forum & Medical Director - Organ Donation, Transplant Québec, Quebec, Canada

Dr. Mélanie Dieudé

Executive Director, The Canadian Donation and Transplantation Research Program (CDTRP), Université de Montréal, Montreal, Canada

Transplant Québec, together with the Canadian Donation and Transplantation Research Program (CDTRP), is pleased to invite you to attend the International Donation and Transplantation Legislative and Policy Forum to be held virtually October 14 and 15th 2021.

As described below, the Forum aims to create recommendations that can be used to improve the legislative and policy framework surrounding organ and tissue donation and transplantation.

Registration is free and required for attendance and can be completed by clicking on the “registration” section. Simultaneous translation in English and French will be available.

We hope that many of you, our Quebec, Canadian, and international colleagues, will participate in this event, as well as in the Forum on the Future of Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation in Quebec, which will immediately follow, focused on integrating the recommendations from the International Forum into the system in the province of Quebec.

Spread the word to your colleagues!

Transplant Québec and the CDTRP recognize and appreciate the significant financial support given by the Quebec Ministry of Health and Social Services that has allowed for the development of these events. We also thank our many partners for their contributions.

Dr. Marcelo Cantarovich

President of The Transplantation Society

Transplant Québec and the CDTRP warmly thank The Transplantation Society and its president, Dr. Marcelo Cantarovitch, for their support as a Principal Partner of both Forums. This support in regards to the organization of the event as well as the scientific input contributed to the creation of a high quality scientific forum, and will allow for greater dissemination of the results to the international community.

Objective:

The goal of the International Forum is to create evidence informed expert consensus recommendations with the objective of improving organ and tissue donation and transplantation laws and policy. Though the focus is primarily on deceased organ donation, tissue donation and living donation will be addressed as well.

This is a Quebec and Canadian initiated event, but the objective is to create aspirational recommendations that can be adapted for use in donation and transplant systems around the world.

Structure:

The International Forum will take place over one and a half days from October 14 to 15, 2021. Colleagues from all regions of the world, including donation and transplantation focused researchers, clinicians, patient partners, and administrators will be present and joined by experts in law, social sciences, and bioethics. Together they will present their consensus recommendations that have been developed over the months preceding the Forum. These recommendations will represent an innovative body of work that could help guide any jurisdiction or region hoping to develop or improve their legislation and policies regarding organ and tissue donation and transplantation.

A second forum, Forum on the Future of Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation in Quebec, will immediately follow during the afternoon of October 15th. In light of the International Forum recommendations and discussions, participants from Quebec’s political and clinical domains will be joined by patient and family partners and members of the general public to begin the discussion on what to prioritize in the quest to improve the legislative and policy framework of Quebec.

Outputs:

The primary output will be a series of science manuscripts detailing the recommendations and the evidence base used to reach consensus.

The recommendations will also be distributed through presentations at scientific conferences, workshops, and reports in non-academic media.

Partners:

The Transplantation Society, the Canadian Society of Transplantation, Canadian Blood Services, and the International Society for Organ Donation and Procurement are all official partners who have contributed to the scientific content and will partner with the distribution of the recommendations.

Organisateurs principaux


M. Louis Beaulieu

Directeur général, Transplant Québec, Montréal, Canada

Dr Matthew Weiss

Directeur scientifique du Forum et Directeur médical – don d’organes, Transplant Québec, Québec, Canada

Dre Mélanie Dieudé

Directrice générale, Programme de recherche en don et transplantation du Canada (PRDTC), Université de Montréal, Montréal, Canada

Transplant Québec, en collaboration avec le Programme de recherche en don et transplantation du Canada (PRDTC), est heureux de vous inviter à assister virtuellement au Forum législatif et politique international sur le don et la transplantation, les 14 et 15 octobre 2021.

Comme détaillé dans les sections suivantes, ce forum basé sur des consensus cible la création de recommandations qui visent à améliorer les cadres législatifs et les politiques liés au don et à la transplantation des organes et tissus.

L’inscription pour participer ou assister à ce forum sera obligatoire et peut se faire dès maintenant en allant dans la section « inscription ». Il n’y a aucun frais de participation. Une traduction simultanée en français et en anglais sera disponible.

Nous espérons que des collègues québécois, canadiens ainsi que de l’international participeront en grand nombre à ce Forum qui se déroulera en deux temps, soit un Forum scientifique international et un Forum pour l’avenir du don d’organes et de tissus au Québec.

N’oubliez pas d’en parler à vos collègues!

Transplant Québec et le PRDTC tiennent à souligner l’apport financier substantiel du ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec, qui par les fonds accordés à Transplant Québec, permet la tenue de ces forums. Merci aussi à tous nos partenaires pour leurs contributions.



Objectif :

Le but de cet événement est de générer des consensus d’experts, basés sur des connaissances établies, afin de soutenir l’amélioration des législations liées au don et à la transplantation d’organes et de tissus, principalement au regard du don d’organes des personnes décédées mais aussi en lien avec le don vivant et le don de tissus.

Bien qu’il s’agisse d’une initiative québécoise et canadienne, l’objectif est d’établir des recommandations qui seront utiles aux systèmes de don et transplantation dans le monde entier.

Structure :

Un premier Forum scientifique se tiendra la journée du 14 octobre et l’avant-midi du 15 octobre 2021. De nombreux collègues des quatre coins de la planète, chercheurs, cliniciens, patients partenaires et administrateurs de la communauté du don et de la transplantation d’organes et de tissus ainsi que des domaines du droit, de l’éthique et social, vont présenter les recommandations qu'ils ont développé pendant les mois précédents le Forum.  Ces recommandations vont représenter un corpus de connaissances inédit, innovant et transformationnel qui permettront à toute juridiction ou état de pouvoir développer ou moderniser une loi sur le don et la transplantation d’organes et de tissus.

Un second forum sera tenu dans l’après-midi du 15 octobre, le Forum pour l’avenir du don d’organes et de tissus au Québec, avec pour but de discuter des priorités pour le Québec. Des participants du monde politique, clinique, des patients et des familles ainsi que de la société civile auront l’occasion de débuter un échange dont l’objectif principal sera d’améliorer les performances au Québec en don et en transplantation d’organes et de tissus, tout en visant la mise en place d’une loi exemplaire et des politiques innovantes.

Résultats :

Le principal résultat de ce Forum sera une série de manuscrits, publiés dans un journal international scientifique, détaillant les recommandations basées sur un consensus international.

La diffusion ultérieure et l’application des connaissances comprendront la présentation lors de réunions scientifiques, des ateliers, la distribution dans la presse non spécialisée et le suivi des publications scientifiques.

Partenaires :

The Transplantation Society, la Société canadienne de transplantation, la Société canadienne du sang, et l’International Society for Organ Donation Procurement sont des partenaires officiels de cette initiative scientifique et contribueront à la dissémination des connaissances.